Gasp!

As we come out of Thanksgiving and roll into the holiday season, I find myself gasping for breath.

Sales is a fun endeavor, with lots of randomity.  On any given day, I’m cold calling, following up on leads, generating proposals and following through on existing orders to make sure my customers are well satisfied.

 

The last point deserves some mention, for both buyers and sellers.  In the age of the almighty Internet, buyers have unprecedented access to a wide variety of vendors.  I was talking the other day to an account that buys custom printed envelopes from a small printer in Iowa.  By “small” I mean the printer was a one-man operation.  My prospect said he found the guy on the Internet while searching for a good price.

Given the fact that there seems to be more competition than ever, most sales people seem to succumb to cutting their price to be competitive.  I view it differently.  I’m not a low-price guy.  I save my customers money by consulting with them to design the form or options that best fits their needs.  I follow the process from start to finish, including the production, delivery and follow up stages to ensure my customers are satisfied.  When there’s a problem or delay, I let my customers know in a timely fashion so they are not left guessing at where their product is.  I answer my phone!

While all of this may seem to limit how much business I can win, on the contrary, I build a loyal customer base that understands the value of service.

As a buyer, keep in mind that the low price guy may not be the best option, especially if you want a quality product, or if you want to know that the vendor you’re using will get your product right and on-time.

I believe good is ultimately a better value than just good enough.

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Business, Communication, Customer Service, Marketing, Organization, Sales and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

